sunday style: it’s my bag, baby

It was super easy to make, too. I found an image online as inspiration for the cat shape then sketched it and cut it from contact paper, pressed it down onto the bag (which was part of a 3-pack from Michael’s years ago) and painted it, cut the straps in half before adding 10 inches of leather (cut from a $6 bag of scraps, also from Michael’s), wrapped the sewn together pieces with a bit more leather using fabric glue, then added the “Q” and “R” for my little black fur balls.

I’d like to add some pyramid studs where the straps meet the main part of the bag but I can’t find them anywhere! Also, don’t be an idiot like me – I used a red sharpie to add the letters and, duh, it bled a little. Not a huge deal. You can’t really notice it until you’re up on it.

As with most things I do these days, I was inspired by a pin on Pinterest – a tote going for over $50:

All in all, took me an afternoon. I dig it…even if the cats don’t get how rad I think they are. ;)

PS Linking up, once again, to the Pinterest Challenge!

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in She's Crafty, Wardrobe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

