Weekend Updates: July

The month is near over and we did a few things over the past 2 weekends that I’ve yet to post about so I’m clumping.

We went to the Hill Cumorah Pageant. I’ve been wanting to go for a few years now even though we’re not Mormon. It’s in nearby Palmyra, NY and I admittedly knew absolutely nothing about the religion. Why not attend a production of over 750 cast members and witness some serious light, water and fire effects to learn something new? I must say, those Mormons know how to put on a show and I’d recommend it for anyone even slightly interested in learning about the religion or seeing such an impressive production. (Also, I’m pretty sure Mormons are the happiest, prettiest, nicest people in America so you’re not at a loss). We packed a stellar picnic, too. Night = Success!

The Olympics! Yes, we celebrate dedicated athletes on strict diets and work out schedules with over eating – we’re American. We had a party to watch the opening ceremonies (we were all underwhelmed, Danny Boyle, we may have to revoke your Boyle card). I’m definitely an enthusiast, though, and watch every event and then think I could go out and do what I just saw. So what if I was doing handstands in my living room and in the breezeway between projects imagining I was on my way to the podium to collect my gold? So what if I went to the lake and told myself I could swim across it b/c I’m an elite athlete? So what if I think I could be the best rower the US has ever had even though I’m the same height as the coxswain? I could totally stuff a Brazilian volleyball player at 5’3″! This is normal! I’m convinced everyone does this. Don’t they?

Okay. Stop laughing at me. Jerry already did that for you. Happy Monday!

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Eventful Events, Friends and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

