She’s Crafty: Wood Shop

NOTE: THIS BLOG HAS MOVED! If you have any questions or comments regarding this or any other project on the blog, please head over to accordingtoboyle.com (or for this exact post go HERE). I don’t check on this blog anymore and would hate for you not to try something because I haven’t gotten back to you! I’m much quicker over there plus there are lots of good things in the works! Promise! :)

.         

I never had the opportunity to take any “shop” classes in high school – not that I would have been cool enough to actually sign up for any of them – but the Jer Bear gladly let me play work in his workshop to whip up this lovely lap desk. The original (linked here and pinned here) is so gorgeous but way out of my price range. I knew I could whip it up if I braved Walt (the DeWalt miter saw we bought ourselves for Christmas a few years back).

For the price of 3 1x2s (since we have plenty of screws laying around the house), I was able to measure, cut, stain, sand, poly, sand, poly until I had a pretty new lap desk! Here are my measurements, er, the pieces that made up the table:

  • 5 pieces at 21″
  • 4 pieces at 9″
  • 8 pieces at 7″

We decided these were the best measurements to be able to sit most comfortably (ie being able to cross your legs for me and giving Jer the height he needed). I played around with other stains, too, thinking I didn’t want to copy cat the original completely but after staining a bunch of little pieces from our scrap pile, it was clear the designers had chosen the best colors. Verdict?

I’m in love.

Someday I hope to be able to purchase the original as it’s made of much higher quality wood and I’m betting it will last you much longer than mine will. In the meantime, though, this one is a great runner up. :)

PS In construction, make sure to assemble the legs first!

PPS Linking up to The Pinterest Challenge being held by Katie, Sherry, Kate and Michelle!

PPPS Also linking up to the montly Pinterest Challenge over at The Pinterest Challenge Blog!

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Pinterest, She's Crafty and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to She’s Crafty: Wood Shop

  1. Mackenzie says:

    I’m totally jealous of all the craftiness that you have been busting out with!

  2. Lauren M. says:

    Wow, great idea and it turned out very nice!

  3. Mindi Carwin says:

    This is Beautiful! I like it better than the original! You did a fantastic job!

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

