Happy Independence Day!

I’m definitely one of those people who gets excited over holidays because of the endless potential for new and delicious food. Jerry and I found out yesterday that almost none of our friends had plans for the 4th. So we took it upon ourselves to feed them. Burgers, dogs, corn, beans and dessert is what we served up while guests brought watermelon, chips, dip and salt potatoes…mmm.

Jer Bear loves to grill and I love to dessert (that’s accurate) so we’re a great team when it comes to hosting Summer shindigs – says me. Though I totally cheated on these desserts. Chocolate dipped pretzels? Easy. Ice cream cake? Easier. (Softened vanilla ice cream, red and blue M&Ms, and an 8 pack of soft cookies meet in your mixer then you put most of it into a graham cracker crust and freeze it).

Of course, someone (who shall remain nameless because we all know who they are) brought water balloons which invited Jerry and I to hunt down our water toys and then we went crazy and everyone got soaked – even those who didn’t think they wanted to get wet. Soooo sorry, suckas. It was awesome and a great way to cool down until our neighbors (God love them) invited us to jump in their pool. YES.

I think mid-week holidays are my new favorite. :)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Friends, Memorial-Independence-Labor Days, Recipe Book and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Independence Day!

  1. Mackenzie says:

    Even though I didn’t plan on getting wet I am certainly glad that I decided to partake! So much fun!!

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

