Sunday Style: MAJOR Sales!

On our recent trip to Ohio, where we met up with some super sweet dogs, we had some time to kill between meetings in and around Columbus. I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to hit up a Victoria’s Secret outlet shop since their headquarters are in Columbus…but there are none. Or so I thought.

Much to Jerry’s chagrin, my mad FBI stalking skills landed me and the Jer Bear at MJR Sales Warehouse in Plain City, OH. Holy. Bananas. Batman.

It’s basically a warehouse the size of several airplanes of boxes and boxes (and boxes and boxes) of clothing, shoes, accessories and more waiting to be unloaded into the shopping section which is probably 1/2 an acre…or more. I’m a bad judge of space. Anyway, take away from this that this place is HUGE with a capital HUGE.

In this HUGE warehouse you will find the following brands:

  • The Limited
  • Express
  • Lane Bryant
  • Victoria’s Secret
  • and more but I need to move on…

…b/c now I’m going to tell you the best part.

Everything there is extremely marked down. So extreme you won’t be able to pick your jaw up off the floor until 3 days later when you’re back in your home state and all items have been laundered and nicely put away. So extreme that I got all of this:

for $55.08 – after tax.

?@#&*%! Are you kidding me, right now?! Do you not want to hop the next plane to Columbus and tell the cab driver to book it to Plain City?! I’m dying a little knowing they are so close yet so far from me…good thing we have our next trip to Ohio already scheduled. ;)

The dress alone was $22 but I was desperate for something to wear to my brother-in-law’s high school graduation. They had a ton of other really amazing dresses, some for much less, but I just couldn’t say no to this blue – I got 3 compliments while waiting for Jerry to turn around and give me his thoughts from the dressing room. I’m thinking that’s a win.

Jerry didn’t think I’d every wear this stuff b/c it’s unlike anything I typically buy (b/c it’s typically out of my price range) but I fooled him by using 4 of 8 items in 2 days time.

Wanna know what else is in that pile and what it cost me? Too bad, I’m telling you anyway:

  • Double sided belt: $3
  • Limited Clutch: $5
  • Lento Hood: $1
  • LB Straw Fedora: $3
  • Express Dress: $22
  • Express Green Shirt: $8
  • Express Blue Blazer: $6 <–Deal of the decade!
  • VS Cardigan: $3.60

Okay, I’ve been keeping the best part for last. As we’re checking out, the register lady asked me if I wanted to sign up for e-mail alerts. “Sadly,” I told her, “we’re from out of state.”

“Oh, but we have an ONLINE STORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So maybe she wasn’t that excited to tell me about their online store but I swear that’s how I heard it coming out of her mouth.

After checking it out, it’s just like the warehouse BUT the prices aren’t nearly as awesome but they’re still pretty outrageous. Just like Jem. Take the price you find online and divide it by 2 and that might be the price you pay at MJR Sales Warehouse. *sigh*

One thing of note: some of the items in the warehouse are there b/c of defects or they were returned to the store by a previous purchaser so you have to look the item over before letting yourself fall in love with it. However, a lot of the defects that make the item such an amazing price are repairable if you have a little know-how with some thread and a needle. That comfy cream softer than a kitten cardigan I purchased for under $4 has some minor holes in it but I knew I could stitch ’em and make it good as new.

I haven’t ordered anything online yet but I’ll let you know when I do! I’m so green for you if you happen to be reading this from the Columbus area…so green. Happy shopping!

PS They even have items for men!

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Leaving Town, On the Road Again, Wardrobe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunday Style: MAJOR Sales!

  1. Mackenzie says:

    Great buys! Both outfits look great! I wish I could go dig through the boxes…

    • Miss Em says:

      They don’t let you dig through the boxes (unfortunately). Mac – maybe we should do a ladies trip to Columbus when we’re all not so broke! ;)

      Em

  2. Cate says:

    If there are any items you changed your mind about, please feel free to pack them with my dress!!

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

