California: Day 4

I’m such a bad blogger and sister…this was the final day we were in California for Sarah’s 30th birthday and it was the day of her 30th birthday (April 30th)! We did everything and anything Sarah wanted to do. This meant a lot of couponing and sister time. We did manage to get dressed and go for lunch!

We went to The Vegan Joint so all of the food in the picture above – even the chicken sandwich Sarah is holding – is 100% vegan. Know what else? It was 100% delicious. I got the garlic chicken burger…I still have dreams about it.

They also have fresh coconut water served in baby coconuts! It was so yummy but it didn’t go well with my savory meal so I had to pass it over to Cate to help me finish it.

We did a little shopping to walk off lunch before we headed back to the house where Sarah and I demanded Cate and Sam to let us rearrange their living room. Sam decided to peace out but we put Cate to work…until she misbehaved and told us she didn’t like something. Then we did this:

Muhahahaha!

Oh, sorry. I got a little out of control there. Once we were done rearranging (and, sadly, I don’t have a single before or after picture of the process – bad blogger!), we were ready to eat again. No surprises.

After driving around in circles continuously for about 15 minutes, Sam found where he was trying to take us Barragan’s – even though Sarah had pointed it out as a suggestion 10 minutes before.

The food was good and there was a lot of it. We all had birthday margaritas (but who really needs an excuse for margaritas?) and I made sure to tell everyone and anyone who came within shouting distance of our table that it was, in fact, my sister’s birthday! Gosh, we just happened to be out to dinner and wouldn’t you know? It’s her birthday!

Barragan’s didn’t disappoint with some festive Flan and singing. :) Makes me smile thinking about how uncomfortable it made her feel…and how special. Aw…

We got home and quickly tucked ourselves in to prepare for our 3:30AM wake up call for our flight home.

When it was all over, we had an amazing time, a trip filled with many firsts for Sarah and the rest of us but it was so nice to be back in bed with my hubs – he’s a much better cuddler than Sarah. ;)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Family, Leaving Town, On the Road Again and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

