Sunday Style: Bright Beginnings

I’m trying something new – Sunday Style – in an effort to make myself go out of my comfort zone (and through some of my pins if I’m being honest). It’s silly, I know, but I save a ton of inspiration photos for outfits, make up and different hair styles and it’s about time I start trying these things out.

I’m the first to admit I am not the biggest fashionista day to day but I have a lot of respect for the people who can style themselves on a daily basis and fashion has always interested me. I started designing clothes when I was 12 and did so until I decided I wanted to be a bone surgeon at the age of 17. My thoughtful Mom set me up with a subscription to W magazine when I was 13 which I would pour over and even study the advertisements (some of which were *gasp* nudes)! I even got accepted to FIT. For. Real.

So why am I so lazy with my routine? I recently came across this quote (pin) and could not agree more.

I’m not always going to use this segment for clothes and I may not even do it every Sunday but the point is for me to break out of my boring shell and into a more colorful and exciting one. :)

Today, it’s for clothes and has everything to do with the first picture on this post. I already told you I scored this skirt (no longer available in pink!) on this post after initially seeing it on Good Life for Less and while I love the inspiration photo, I needed a bit more coverage since it was a bit breezy here in Western NY when I wore this a couple of weeks ago.

First I tried out my pink maxi with a new chartreuse cardigan I picked up at Target (similar).

I was really digging it but Jerry quickly replied “Yes,” when I asked if it was a little too much for a baptism. :\ No go.

It was a bit breezy in the sun and I was wondering if a cardigan over a tank top would even be warm enough so I dug through my coat closet and pulled out my biker jacket (similar).

Um, nah…

I checked the forecast again and the weather was only supposed to get warmer so I reasoned a cardigan would be just fine. I began my search for something a bit more neutral and finally landed on this:

Was it the safest option? Yes. Was I most comfortable in it? Yes. Did it mean I was actually going to leave the house in a high-waisted hot pink maxi skirt? Yes. Was the only compliment I received from a 3 year-old girl in a pink dress who claimed pink was her favorite color before saying she liked my skirt? Yes. Does that equal a win? A million times, YES.

If I am dressing for anyone, clearly it’s the toddlers. ;)

So clearly I’m not the best poser. We’ll see how that progresses but I don’t have high hopes. I actually embarrassed to have posted these pictures at all so that equals another win in my book.

Special shout out goes to the hubs for helping a girl out and taking some photos by our awesomesauce hostas that are now even more awesomesauce than they were in those pictures. :)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Wardrobe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Style: Bright Beginnings

  1. Cate says:

    Love it! I liked the yellow too, but good choice to tone it down for that specific event. Love the last photo of just the skirt. Nice shot Jerry!!! You are beautiful, Em!

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

