Easter Break: Family Trip

Oh yeah, I was telling you how my Easter went. When we left off, I had a bunch of friends over and we were all in sugar comas mostly due to this:

And since we were all on a serious sugar high, my last guests didn’t leave until midnight. Did I mention I had to wake up at 4:30AM?

Yeah…I really love my friends so even knowing I would get max 4 hours of sleep, I loved every minute of them hanging around. :) Awr, shucks…

I also had to drive 3 hours once I woke up. See, I’m actually really good in the morning if I have something to do. If I have nothing planned that’s another story completely and I’ll flip over and fall asleep faster than you can hit snooze on your alarm clock.

Naturally, Jerry decided to pull an all nighter. He wanted to get the dishes done and the house mostly picked up from the party so 1) The house didn’t stink when we got home in 2 days and 2) The cats would have less to get into while we were gone. Of course, that didn’t take him 4 hours so he helped me finally complete a top secret project for the twins I had been working on and still had time for some computer games. This also meant, of course, that he would be sleeping while I was driving.

Where were we going? 3 hours to my mother’s house to jump into her car and drive 4 hours to the Island of Long (aka Long Island). Not so fun. The drive. The actual being in LI is always a blast.

We spent Saturday afternoon with my Grandparents – lunch before a stop at Trader Joe’s (I get it where I can, peeps)! Then we had dinner at my Aunts where I got to hang out with the first set of twins introduced into our family in 2001, Alek and Grace. Pardon the iPhone pic but you have to see this:

Yeah, they’re 11. I’m 27. Alek is 5’6″ and Gracie, whoa nelly, Gracie is 5’8″. And 11. Did I mention they’re 11? I’m sorry, it’s really hard for me to get over. I babysat them for the first year of their lives and held them both football style in my arms – I have pictures of it – and they’re already taller than me! Ok, so my Aunt and Uncle are both well over 6′ so this was expected but…sheesh. ;)

That picture was actually taken on Easter at my other Uncle’s house. They do a big Easter dinner every year. The last time we were there was 2 years ago.

As we do every time we head to Eastern LI for Easter, Jer and I snuck away to Port Jefferson.

We walk around but the main attraction we go for is the beach.

It’s a little beach. Not much to speak about but it’s always so beautiful. The weather is gorgeous and if you get their at the right time, you get to watch the ferry go out. This year, we got to watch the ferry. :)

Do you see how clear that water is? Growing up, I always thought the sound side of Long Island was the pits. I guess I never actually went there b/c it’s beautiful.

Port Jeff = Boyle Approved

Do you have any Easter road trip traditions?

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Easter, Leaving Town, NY, On the Road Again and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

