Painting Queen

This is NOT the last painting post dealing with the completion of the hall and stairs from last months goals. You see, of the four doors connecting to the landing, there were four different colored knobs!

 Since we’re pretty broke around these parts, I found a silver metallic spray paint (Valspar) that I thought looked pretty realistic compared to a brushed nickel door knob (since that’s what we’ve purchased for all of the doors on the first floor). Please note the three different shades of gold. Ridiculous.

Oh, and there is a quick trick for you, too. Since I had a lot of painting to do and, in true McBoyle fashion, not a lot of time, I stuck all of the pieces that could be stuck through an empty upside down box and laid out the rest.

To make sure I didn’t get anything confused, each door’s screws and hinges were placed in the same place they would be installed upstairs when they were done. I even carried them down in target bags to keep them separated. Here’s a closer look:

So, you may be thinking it’s kind of crazy to spray paint door knobs and hinges but these doors are very rarely used. Really, they’re only used when we have guests over.

Unfortunately, we had guest over two days after everything was sprayed. We let the sprayed pieces sit as long as we could possible wait, almost a full 48 hours before reinstalling them. Even still, the bathroom door faceplate is a bit scuffed. I’m pretty sure no one is going to call me out on it any time soon plus the inside of the bathroom was a silver knob with silver fixings so you can’t really tell. See:

It’s just a little shiny where the spray paint has been scuffed off.

Otherwise, I am LOVING that they all match! And they’re not gold! Woot! The doorknobs look great and aren’t rubbing off or scuffing or anything. :) So pleased.

They aren’t perfect but they are so much better. So so so so so so much better. Trust me. I didn’t actually think they’d turn out this well.

Woohoo! More painting to share tomorrow! As I mentioned last time, it’s going to be a little more exciting than this. I think it is anyway. :p Have you done any painting recently or am I alone on this silly endeavor?

UPDATE: With a little more consideration (thanks to Megan!) I’m definitely not recommending this method for use in high traffic areas! Spray at your own risk! :)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Around the House, Goalies. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Painting Queen

  1. Megan says:

    Hi, I have worked in theatre as a scenic designer/scenic painter for almost 10 years, and while I LOVE money saving ideas in my own home and on the set…do NOT do this unless you are okay with having to repaint them on a regular basis. Even with proper preparation of the surface, such as scrubbing them clean as a whistle and using a metal primer, this will eventually rub off. I have seen it time and again on door knobs on scenery, which experience heavy use as most home door knobs would endure. With proper prep, lighting fixtures (including ceiling fans) are great to paint but not items with heavy use (door knobs) or wet use (towel bars).

    • Miss Em says:

      Thanks so much for your expertise, Megan! Like I said in the post, these doors aren’t used until we have guests and even then the only one they typically close is the bathroom door. I’ll have to keep a can of matching paint handy for touch ups when the time comes!

      Thanks again!
      Emily

  2. Looks like a great quick fix!! They look fab – what were the previous owners thinking with 4 different colored knobs?!?!? Madness.

  3. Cate says:

    It’s too bad about most likely having to repaint the knobs later but Em – I LOVE the way you put the pieces together to spray paint!! What a great idea! I never would have thought of that and it looks like it made painting a breeze! Good thinking!

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

