Funnest Game Ever

I bet you’ve never heard of it. It’s called, “What did I do today?”

Here’s a clue in the form of photos:

BEFORE

AFTER

I know, right?! I can hardly contain my excitement and I hope your computer monitor is doing this job justice!

Just kidding. Aside from the cat moving and some paint paraphernalia adjusting itself (and, a million points to you if you noticed the door on the right is now off it’s hinges – gasp! – we’ll get to that later) you may have noticed I painted the trim! Holy cow, what a difference! It went from dull white to bright white! Can I get a woot woot!?

In all seriousness…most. thankless. job. ever. And I have about 8 more rooms to do. UUUUGH. I hate painting trim. Hate it. So I’ve come up with some speedy tricks that I’m about to lay on ya. Actually, it’s just one. One tip. But it’s a doozy.

See, most of the trim in my house looks like this:

Thanks to Caroline or whoever she hired to paint her trim (ooo, that almost sounds dirty), they did a sloppy job and we have to repaint all of the trim. We should anyway since it’s probably been awhile and there used to be carpet so there are little plookies stuck to every bit of trim we have…ah, what a life. I mean, can you see that rainbow on my trim? White, yellow, mint and peach. Yummy.

Being the painter of the family, I am blessed with the task of,  you guessed it, painting the trim.  An entire house full of old nasty trim. Luckily for me there is usually a teeny tiny gap at the base of the trim that allows me to do this:

BOOM! Even in spots where I can’t slide this 12″ tool that I forget the name of under the moulding it still works like a charm at keeping my hardwoods free and clear of any new paint. All you have to do is give it a good wipe down each time you need to move it.

Don’t worry about messing up your tool that I forget the name of by getting some paint on it, either. I painted my trim, heard a strange noise, registered that it was my cat about to hurl, ran three rooms to make sure he wasn’t on any textiles, watched him hurl, ran three rooms back to the kitchen for cleaning supplies, ran back to his mess, cleaned up his mess, scolded him for eating too fast, rubbed his tummy to make sure he was feeling better, remembered what I was doing in the first place, ran back to the stairs (this was where the particular trim I was painting at the time was located), picked up the tool I forget the name of and wiped it clean. That’s what you’re looking at in the picture above. That exact wipe. Glad you know that now, aren’t you?

Also, you may be wondering how is it that I am awesome enough to paint whitemoulding all over my house with two black cats running around? I’ll correct you, my cats are awesome. The entire time I was painting trim, this was the only cat I saw:

Quinny was curled up on a towel in the upstairs bathroom from beginning to end of my paint-ful day. What a good supervisor. Ray isn’t big on the looks I give him when he comes too near for my liking so he just avoids me and the fumes at all costs.

Lots more painting ahead and I promise…it’s not all trim and it gets slightly more exciting. Slightly. ;)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Around the House, Goalies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Funnest Game Ever

  1. briarrose says:

    Quite the productive day. ;)

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

