Christmas Challenge: Week 3 – Make

My goodness, this week has swallowed me whole. How did I lose 2 days??? How did I miss Thursday Latlies?!

I have to tell you, I have been in quite the Christmas funk and I have no idea why. Maybe it’s the lack of snow, maybe it’s the lack of my dog, I don’t know what it is but I’m really trying not to be a Scrooge for everyone else. :\

SO. I have been craftier than a crafty thing in crafty land who won an award for being crafty this week. Even still, I only share one thing! Most of my craftiness is soon to be gifted and I don’t want to spoil any surprises. Instead, I decided it was finally time to start crafting with some left over wedding materials so we can have little things around the house that remind us how awesome it was.

I started with a piece of rope that we had left over from our aisle marker and found this pin. Here’s my supplies:

I thought I could be extra serious and use the Fabri-tac. Yeah, just stick to the hot glue gun. The Fabri-tac for whatever reason wasn’t adhering rope to rope. No big deal. Jer found my hot glue gun a few weeks ago (something I would have been Thursday Lately thankful for) after it had been hiding for months.

I began the coil in my hand hot gluing the pants off of this rope then once I had a few rings around, I placed it on my mold to guide the shape.

I pretty much hot glued the entire thing leaving very little to no space unglued. So where there is rope on rope action happening, there is glue.

It really is that easy! There will be some hot glue stuck to your mold so be careful to pull it of gently. I actually had to spin my bowl to release the glue but once it’s off, you can’t even see the glue!

Okay, if you look really, really, really close you can see the glue a little. :p

I knew exactly where this bowl would live, too. Right next to santa on the mantle.

I love the texture the bowl adds along with the paper of Santa’s body. Every time I look at that little rope bowl it reminds me of the Celtic knots Jerry made with it to line the aisle at our wedding and makes me smile. :)

 I had to destash my secret Hershey Kiss Mint Truffle stash as to have something to put into the bowl…and I have to say…I think Santa may be sneaking some when we’re not looking. Sneaky snake.

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Christmas, She's Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Challenge: Week 3 – Make

  1. Jacke McKeating says:

    I don’t know if I ever told you this, but Im LOVE your blog1 it keeps us connected in some way and I get to ALMOST know what it would’ve been like to have daughter because i think she would have been a lot like you. Love, Jackie

  2. Pingback: 2011: Year in Review |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

