Decking the Halls

…or everything but. Mostly I want to show you my living room:

This is standing at the front door. Step in, won’t you?

The blocks were a handmade gift from a friend of mine last year. They say other things on the other sides but I am dying for some snow right about now!

This little tree makes me so happy. I got it for like a dollar at TJ Maxx last year after Christmas and it reflects every teeny tiny bit of light that hits it – even the filtered light through our living room curtains. Love. Love. Love.

Then there’s our TV cabinet:

The stockings are new this year – I won them in a contest over at kj & co. Won them. I’m pretty sure it’s the first contest I’ve ever won. It was awesome. :) Thanks again, Krista!

The little mercury glass tree was another TJ Maxx find. The nativity scene is new this year from Robin Harley and the stable was given to me by my mother. That ting is ooold but it reminds me of being little and not being able to touch any of the fancy figurines. :p

I found the little tree recently at a thrift store. It’s actually a napkin holder that needs to go to the dining room but…I don’t have any napkins. We use paper towels around these parts ’cause we classy. The clock is from forever ago and the compote is vintage and holds seasonal Hershey Kisses quite nicely. Are they paying me yet? I’m pretty sure I mention Hershey something or other in every post.

Moving on to the mantle!

It’s not done…I’m hunting down a piece of plywood that I’ll hopefully be able to DIY into something awesome but that all has to wait. :(

I love this Santa! How Jolly is he? I never thought I would love paper as much as I love him. My Grandmother gave him to me and she keeps everything in pristine condition. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep him on the up and up for as long as she did!

OMG – I need to find another place in this house for that philodendron! I love my trumpet candle holders I found at a thrift store this Fall and that Frosty is proof that I am my mother’s favorite. Hi, Sarah! ;)

My sisters and I used to argue over who would get Frosty when we grew up. It’s so special b/c my Mom made him. Her initials are carved in the bottom and everything! Needless to say, she picked me. Yeah, mantle! Also…that ornament jar may or may not be my secret Hershey Kiss hiding place. May or may not.

One more corner and we’re done!

The only thing really Christmas-y about this corner are the books and the Christmas Cookie candle.

Doesn’t mean I didn’t take a bunch of pictures of it! Ha! Made you look. Has your home been Christmasized?

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decking the Halls

  1. YAY! So glad to see the stockings up.

  2. Pingback: 2011: Year in Review |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

