Christmas Challenge: Week 2 – Cook

The cooking challenge is the hardest for me…I’m not really that good at it to begin with and then trying to make new stuff…ugh. Nevertheless, I am pushing through!

This week’s new meal was Brown Sugar Chicken. The author’s daughter (age 4) described it as “angel’s dancing in her mouth.” I can’t say I experienced angels but this is some really good chicken. It’s like a Hawaiian sweet with a tiny kick of spice chicken. That’s what I’d call it. Haha.

My sauce (once again) didn’t get very thick. Even after I tried to reduce it according to the directions. I’m sure I’m doing something wrong. However, the sauce did bubble up on the pan and leave this super sticky sweet deliciousness that I scraped off and added to my piece (seen in the lump of brown above).

I cooked up the Brown Sugar Chicken with smashed pototoes:

Only the 2nd time in my life that I’ve ever made them and the 1st time I skipped using a recipe and just had Jer at the ready for taste testing to let me know when I had enough butter, milk and salt. Plus some broccoli for greens and it was a really nice dinner!

Cook up any fantastic meals lately?

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Christmas, My Boys, Recipe Book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Challenge: Week 2 – Cook

  1. Pingback: 2011: Year in Review |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

