Why I Love/Hate Surprises

I love surprises but I make one simple request: please do not tell me when you are going to surprise me. It is no longer a surprise it is an end to whatever I was doing or had planned for the rest of the day and or up until the surprise occurs.

It tears me up inside trying to figure out what it is, how I should dress, if make-up is necessary, maybe I should clean the house? Do you see where I’m going with this? I love surprises BUT I cannot know a surprise is coming to me.

Thursday night, Jerry told me I had a surprise coming the next day and he’d be home for lunch. I somehow went from excited on Thursday evening to crying when he came home from work on Friday afternoon. I can’t make all of the connections for you but I began with we’re going out to lunch with friends to my sister is coming for the weekend to Jerry got me a dog and I don’t know if I’m ready. That’s where the tears came in.

So anyway, what did nearly 20 hours or emotional turmoil get me?

The most delicious homemade chicken rolls from my dear friend, Than. She had a work pot luck party that she made them for and knowing how much I love them and being such an amazing person, she wanted to surprise me and drop some off for lunch.

A million points for Than coming from Jerry’s point total. It was a great surprise. :)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Friends, Surprise Surprise. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Love/Hate Surprises

  1. I’m the exact same way!!! Do NOT tell me there’s a surprise in my future or I’ll die from anticipation.

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

