Christmas Challenge: Week 1 – Bake

Sometimes when I’m on Pinterest, Jerry will hover glance over my shoulder and “Ooo” and “Ahhh” at some of the pins before him. The pins that catch his eye are always the same: sweets, desserts, anything containing peanut butter. When he started drooling over this one, I was a little hesitant to pin it – how can a dessert made with saltine crackers be any good?

The pinner called it “Christmas Crack”

…you really have no idea. It is beyond words. Paula Deen calls it Pine Bark. I actually flip flopped between the two recipes (using the almond extract but skipping trying to move the crack bark onto a piece of waxed paper).

You may not know this but I am notorious for beginning a recipe and realizing half way through that I don’t have all of the ingredients. Such was the case here. I had 48 saltines lined on my cookie sheet, I had the butter and the sugar, I had the chocolate but…I only had half the amount of chocolate called for.

Realizing my ridiculous trend was indeed continuing, I shared my sob story with Jer Bear (who is really getting tired of this story) but he didn’t flinch before he suggested adding the rest of our Candy Cane Hershey Kisses into the mix.

O.M.G.

I used an entire 10 oz bag of Ghirardelli 60% Cocao Chips and about a cup of Candy Cane Kisses and it made my Christmas Crack more Christmasy! The butter/sugar mixture that turns to toffee soaks through the Saltines making them like the buttery flakey cookie part of a Twix bar…mmm.

You have got to try these. I made the mistake of breaking them apart before I ate my lunch…let’s just say my goal of losing 10 lbs before Christmas just went out the window.

Oh! I almost forgot! I got this in the mail today from my Aunt Carol:

I fully intend on catching up to the proper day of the month! Luckily, Aunt Carol knew I didn’t need the chocolate – this one is full of crafts and ideas of things to do like watch a holiday movie or make paper snowflakes! I’m so excited to find out what’s behind all of them!

Thanks, Aunt Carol! :)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Family, Pinterest, Recipe Book. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Challenge: Week 1 – Bake

  1. Pingback: 2011: Year in Review |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

