Dear Eddie

The past week has flown by. I’m less sad now and I think it has to do with the fact that I have a few things pulling me out of the house now. Sitting around all day looking at your empty bed was clearly not helping my situation.

For now, your beds that used to be in the bedroom and the living room are in the basement. They’ll need to get washed whether we adopt a new dog in need of a good home or whether we donate them to a pup still waiting. Either way, there is a big blank hole in the corner of the living room. I put a chair there but it’s too small for the space and obviously wrong. Even still, it’s helping.

We’ve gotten so many cards in sympathy. Everyone knew what a great dog you were. I hope you knew. I hope Papa and I were able to show you what a good dog you were and how much you were loved by everyone. Somehow, I’m sure you knew.

With Love,

Mama

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear Eddie

  1. I had to remove the bowls, beds, gates and everything right away. It was just too sad to look at! We planted a memorial maple tree in our backyard this weekend which was a nice way to remember our big guy.

    • Miss Em says:

      That’s really sweet. I’ve been thinking of turning the back corner of our yard into a dog friendly garden area. I want to make something from it so people who might own our home in the future don’t think to tear it up. (We’re pretty sure this isn’t out forever home). Sometimes, the suburbs suck. :\

      Emily

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

