He’s Crafty: Han Solo

That’s right – he’s crafty. This has absolutely nothing to do with me and yes, it’s a week late. Sue me. (Please don’t).

I tried to convince Jerry it would be best for his costume to use the little Western holster I found at Walmart but he wasn’t having it. He needed to make a more authentic, more leather one…and off he went.

I bought him two matching belts ($3/each) on clearance at Walmart. One he wore low slung around his waist and the other was cut up to make the remaining strips of the holster belt. Easy peasy.

The holster itself, however, not so easy. I’m not kidding when I say it took him hours to finish. Two nights, many hours. The man cannot stop until his vision has been accomplished! He started out with a pair of old shoes.

Disassembled them from their soles with a box cutter then pulled the soft layers out so he was left with mostly just the leather all around.

He then lined up what was left of the shoes with his holster belt and cut it down to size making one have a slightly lower top than the other (you know, for easy gun access and stowing).

Turned them inside out and then stapled the crap out of them.

That was my brainchild. He wanted to use my sewing machine. I didn’t see that happening.

He also cut a bunch of slits on the back leather piece where the belt would have easy access to slide through.

Voila! Easy gun storage! :)

Have you made a Han Solo holster belt? Share it in a link below!

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Halloween, My Boys. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He’s Crafty: Han Solo

  1. Pingback: 2011: Year in Review |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

