She’s Crafty: Princess Leia

You may (or may not) be wondering how I made my Princess Leia costume. It was actually pretty easy (except for the breaking and fixing of my sewing machine that was going on).

I started by researching how to make it. I figured I wouldn’t find anything at the thrift stores and I just so happen to have access to lots and lots of white fabric (in the form of 100% polyester tablecloths left over from our wedding).

I found several helpful sites but when it came down to it, none was more helpful than this one. Hers turned out way better than I could ever dream mine could (this was actually my very first sewing project)!

The main differences are that I didn’t do the high neck (this was my first sewing project remember?) so I just cut the head hole in a “T” putting the top part of the “T” directly in the middle of the sheet so it would bunch up my neck a little. The second difference is that I didn’t sew on the hood (otherwise I would have been able to get my big head in and out). I had Jerry pin it on after I got the gown on and was ready to go.

I recently cut my hair pretty short so I didn’t have a lot to work with there but I found this great tutorial on YouTube. Here’s how mine turned out:

BOO!

Hahahaha…just making sure you’re paying attention.

Anyway, you can tell one is a little farther forward than the other. C’est la vie. The first one we did (b/c I needed Jer’s help to get this done) took us 45 minutes and 18 bobby pins. That was the one over my left ear. The one on my right ear? 15 minutes and 7 pins. Also, lots of AquaNet was involved. Not so fun to take out.

See how it looks like i didn’t finish taking out that bun? Yeah, I did.

PS If you haven’t read this post, my dog, Eddie, passed away Sunday, October 30th. I’m trying to keep things as normal as possible around here and most of my upcoming posts will include photos of him…not to be confusing or anything. :(

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in She's Crafty. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She’s Crafty: Princess Leia

  1. Pingback: 2011: Year in Review |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

