Ze Plane! Ze Plane!

My bridesmaids put up with a lot during mine and Jerry’s 18 month engagement (ie not deciding on a bridesmaids dress until 3 months before hand when I had, you know, 18). Basically, I have a really hard time making decisions. However, I knew I wanted to treat my ladies to something special that they would not be expecting. Soooo…we did this:

We booked our flight with Chief Pilot Charlie Snow of Outer Banks Air Charters. He’s been flying longer than any of us have been alive but of course being the worrier that I am I had the headlines bright and bold in my head, “Bride-to-be Dies during Air Tour of OBX – She Should Have Known Better.” Is this a disease? Where you worry about things so they don’t happen? I feel like I do it all the time and it is so not healthy.

Anyway, Captain Charlie was super sweet and very entertaining. We were up there for almost a half an hour but my dear sister, Cate (above in yellow) was not feeling so hot so we cut it a little short…and landed safely. ;)

Once the flight was complete, we were all starving. Fran, Jerry’s little sis and cake baking Queen (also first on the left in the first pic), had spotted a tiny deli on our way to the airport (we were all hungry, then, too) so we headed back to it. It was delicious and I didn’t get any photos of it b/c I was stuffing my face but it was Garden Pizzeria and Deli. 3 days before my wedding I needed fried chicken fingers and spicy french fries (which were heaven) with honey mustard dipping sauce. Sooo good.

I should also tell you that I imagined it would take us just about an hour to get from our lovely house in the 4×4 beach area to the Duck County Regional Airport…it took 2. Good thing I decided we needed to leave the house really early just in case!

We got there right on time. :)

The 2 hour drive was nice. It gave us all time to bond while shouting singing 80s and 90s hits at the top of our lungs. There may have been some interpretive car dancing as well. I’m sure you know these things happen.

Some of the reasons we were singing so loud: the weather was awesome, we were excited to be out on an excursion, and this was happening:

Jer and his Dad, John Sr., took the top and doors off of the Jeep (uh, I think I forgot to tell you we bought a Jeep). I asked for the top to come off, they did us one better.

We were also pretty beat after 4 hours of sun and wind and wind and wind (seriously, it is crazy windy by the ocean to begin with, having no doors is kinda crazy). By the end of the day, the 4 of us were ready to relax. I think we all actually ended up napping immediately after returning to the house. Driving and flying all day can do that to a girl!

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Eventful Events, Family, On the Road Again, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ze Plane! Ze Plane!

  1. Pingback: 2011: Year in Review |

  2. Pingback: Our Wedding: An Introduction |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

