She’s Crafty: Wedding Edition: Pinhead

I’m on a roll with these titles, right? :\ Don’t judge the craft by the tired blogger, k? Besides, you’d be kinda brain-dead too after making 100 pinwheels. Oh, yeah. You read that right.

Since we’re planning going cheap on flowers for table decor I wanted something else for filler. After looking around a bit I found these lovlies on Etsy where (as per usual) I pinned them. :)

What you need:

  • Wooden Skewers
  • Stapler (you’ll see in just a second)
  • Paper (I think patterns look so cute)
  • Sewing Needles with colorful heads
  • Super Glue

I searched high and low for proper instructions on how to do this but no one tells you how to get a hole in the dowel small enough to hold the pin still! Dah! After some serious trial and error, Jer came up with this brilliant idea:

Genius! Well, to me he is. :) I thought he was crazy but isn’t that what people usually say about geniuses before they are realized to actually be geniuses? I’m rambling. What I mean to tell you is that it worked really well. Sure, some of them were a bit to one side or the other but it didn’t split the skewer and when all is said and done it’s totally not noticeable.

Once all of the skewers (all 100 of them) were properly stapled, Jer put a pin through the hole as a place holder while I worked on the wheels:

This is when I’d take out the pin that JB put in the skewer and put the one on my wheel in instead. Once I had the pin placed the proper distance for maximum spinage (which is key in proper pinwheel assembly), I’d push it through just a bit further, put on the super glue then push it back through so a bit of glue would go through the skewer but not enough so that it would get on the paper. Glue on the paper of your pinwheel is bad, bad, bad. Duh.

Once it dried, Jer gave the pins a good snipping (I can’t be trusted with projects that have projectiles).

And then we were done! :) Hooray! Now we have some pretty spectacular bouquets of pinwheels!

As of right now all of the skewers are the same height. I figure we’ll see what we need when we get down there and snap them or cut them to size accordingly. They have been living on our dining room table in a couple vases for the last week or so and they make me smile every time I walk by. Exactly what I wanted them to do – add a bit of fun.

What do you think I should do with them after the wedding? Save them for rainy days? Sell them? Hmmm???

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in She's Crafty, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to She’s Crafty: Wedding Edition: Pinhead

  1. Pingback: 2011: Year in Review |

  2. Pingback: Our Wedding: An Introduction |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

