Running for…

What are we running for again?

Yesterday I ran(ish) in the Chase Corporate Challenge 5K for the 2nd year in a row! Woohoo! Of course, I’m not a runner and of course, I didn’t bother training but I have been out on my bike or blades a lot this Spring on my 3 mile tour of my neighborhood as well as working up a sweat in the garden and around the house.

I wasn’t feeling too excited about it but I was doing it with some great friends and knew that even if I ended up walking the whole thing I would still have a great time.

My girlfriend, Andrea, and I decided to give running it a shot. We figured we’re athletic enough that we may be able to get a pretty decent time for people who haven’t trained…ever. That’s a lie – she ran track in high school but that’s a long time ago now. Yikes.

I was pretty pleased when I was ready to run more than Andrea (as she was a previous track star) but wanted to keep my running buddy to keep me motivated to run later in the race so we stuck together through mile one and then somehow, somewhere, I lost her!

Crap.

Luckily, I had a coworker, Tim, running about my pace I was able to use as my pacer. I found it easy to catch up with him, pass him, let him pass me, catch him, and on and on.

Then I lost him.

Crap.

I was starting to get tired and mostly bored (no iPod since I had a buddy before and I could easily talk the whole time) so I began walking. I did give myself little goals, “Okay, at that safety light, you can jog to the stop sign.” Then I got to the stop sign and thought, “Eh, go to the next safety light.” So I did.

I found myself walking a long while and thinking I was being lazy and should really jog it out a little bit when my old buddy Tim caught up to me. He told me he was running 3 light posts then walking 1 and repeating.

Psh. I can do that.

So I did. Unfortunately, Tim cramped up after the 2nd light post and I lost him again but I was in the last half mile (the RIT course is 3.5 instead of a typical 3.2 for a 5K) and thought I could push it a little. I told myself every time someone on the side lines shouted something motivational, I’d pick up my pace. It would make them feel good that they were helping me finish strong.

In the end, I finished at 45:30ish. That includes approximately 5 minutes of waiting to get to the starting line, 2 slow downs for water and 1 seriously red face.

I’m proud of myself though b/c I never got to the point of cramping or gasping for breath. When I was tired, I stopped jogging. When I wasn’t, I started again. Yesterday I shaved almost 10 minutes off of my time from last year’s Challenge and it took away my excuse that I “am not a runner.” I now realize, I’m a sissy, and just haven’t wanted to.

I’m thinking about restarting the Couch to 5K plan (I’ve started it twice before and didn’t even make it through Day 1). We’ll see if that happens or if I stick to my wheels. :)

And I have to include this shot b/c it cracks me up. It is no secret that I am pale as a ghost. This just demonstrates the fact in full force:

BAAAAAHAHAHAHAHA! Cracks me up. :)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Eventful Events, Friends, Work It Out and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running for…

  1. Pingback: 2011: Year in Review |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

