Feelin’ Crabby

NOTE: Once again, I am light on the pictures. I really haven’t gotten comfortable with the weird looks people give me when I take photos of my food in restaurants. Now, onto the post!

I had been craving crab and lobster bisque for about a week before my cravings were satisfied. This past Wednesday was Ash Wednesday and it’s a time of fasting (one big meal and no snacks throughout the day). Like the good Catholic that I am, I had forgotten or simply didn’t know about fasting every other year so I wanted to challenge myself to see if I could do it…and I did.

I was starved by the time we exited our 7PM mass and barely hanging on to life by the time we made our 8:30 reservation. Trust me, that is not an exaggeration.

Still craving crab and lobster bisque I searched most of the day for an alternative to Red Lobster (no matter what I order, I always regret it). In doing so, I stumbled upon The Crab Shack.

Mmm…we started with a free appetizer thanks to signing up for their e-mail list (you get the coupon almost immediately after signing up). We chose the crab cake and at first I was let down that it really was only one to split between us but once I started eating it (rather devouring it) I realized another one would have been too much…b/c we also ordered a salad for the Jer and the crab/lobster bisque for me (you really shouldn’t fight cravings). ;) The Bisque came with a shot of Sherry which was strange at first until I thought, “What the heck?,” and dumped it in. Delicious.

For dinner, I had Blue Crab stuffed Tilapia with a creamy crab sauce, buttery green beans and wild rice pilaf (with the surprisingly delicious addition of dried cranberries). It was amazing and just the right portion to fill me up for the night.

The mister had the Shack Basket which came loaded with shrimp, fish fry and crispy, fresh potato chips. The fish fry (I believe it was haddock) was out of this world – perfectly flaky and tender – and the chips were SO addictive.

Ending with complimentary lemon sorbet, we headed home stuffed and satisfied.

All in all, not a bad experience for my first time fasting for Ash Wednesday…Good Friday, where you at?

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Rochester. Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

