FAT Tuesday!

…b/c after I had a slice of the King Cake I made, I felt pretty large. And sick. Maybe I should learn to control my portions better. ;)

What’s King Cake? I was introduced to it last year thanks to a little blog that I was stalking following during their first year of marriage. I bookmarked the recipe and *gasp* remembered to bake it this year!

It marked the very first recipe I’ve completed that included this:

Yes, my kitchen is a mess and yes, we leave the cupboards open while cooking/baking. It just seems easier than getting greasy fingerprints on all the door handles…just me? And no, I am not that tall, I am kneeling on a half stool.

While the dough was rising, a sick JB (he stayed home with a sore throat today) helped me make traditional pancakes. In case you didn’t know, today is not only Mardi Gras but Pancake Day (mostly recognized in Europe).

Above is the traditional lemon juice/sugar variety. Below is the strawberry/sugar/chocolate chip variety that I had to try…yum…

Once was all said and done (and after being home for nearly 4 hours without sitting down) I was left with these:

Since this is Fat Tuesday and tomorrow is Ash Wednesday and I am Catholic, I had to have a piece tonight even though tomorrow I’m bringing one to work and Jer is bringing the other to his work (he also sampled a slice tonight). Oh well, it’s so good, I don’t think anyone will mind that a few pieces are missing… :)

I’ll leave you with one last photo and then I’m off the sweets for 40 days! :(

Le sigh…the fullness in my belly is SO ready for Lent. :)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Around the House, Recipe Book and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FAT Tuesday!

  1. Pingback: 2011: Year in Review |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

