GCCCO: Day 15

Um, I found a new love. And it’s only slightly chocolaty and ridiculously irresistible.I may be the last one to find this out but meringues take forever to bake! This Chocolate Chip Meringue recipe from Martha was so easy and a lot faster than some that suggest leaving them in overnight – my oven isn’t big enough to make more than a dozen a night if I use that method!

Speaking of which, I have someone to introduce you to. If you’ve been following this Great Christmas Cookie Cook-Off, you’ve already met my #1 oven in shots like this:When you manage to stop drooling and take a step back, our little bitty un-insulated oven looks like this:Well, we are lucky enough to have a back up for when in case our 1950s oven just isn’t cutting it (like when I need to make any kind of bread):If you think she’s in the basement, you are spot on. Yes, that IS our water heater behind her. And yes, she is a lovely shade of mustard. And yes, I used her to help me speed up the process of baking these slow poke meringues.

That were delicious.Most of the chocolate chips sunk to the bottom. Funny enough, the white chocolate chips (I used the remainder of my three types from my other recipes) seemed to be most often the ones that could still be floating near the surface.

Like always, I was unprepared and didn’t have parchment paper and ran out of aluminum foil last night so I just sprayed down the cookie sheets with some PAM and all was right in the world. If all these food posts keep up post-GCCCO, I’m seriously considering changing the name of this blog to “The Unprofessional Kitchen.”

Even so, I did not fail at meringues. :)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Christmas 2010, Recipe Book and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GCCCO: Day 15

  1. Pingback: GCCCO: Day 25 |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

