Door Debacle

This is turning into quite the outdoor week – so let’s roll with it!

Our front door:

Our devastatingly disastrous PINK front door…with a poor paint job to boot.

I can kinda get the purple grout in the kitchen to match the purple interior to the cabinets…kinda.

But a pink front door on a brick house?

I don’t get it.

At all.

Our front door needs to be painted but the trouble is that I have no idea what color.

Originally, I always wanted a red front door. I love the way they look on pretty much every color house. I’m not so sure now how I feel about a red door surrounded by red brick opening up to a red living room.

That’s a lot of red. Even when you consider we need to do something about the red paint chipping off the front stoop.

Oh no!

What color am I going to paint the front stoop?! Am I going to paint the front stoop?

HELP!!!

Our other front door (the one we use more frequently otherwise the pink front door would be painted three times by now) is white.

I like it white, it stands out against all the brick and matches the garage door.

I don’t mind the white around the screen door over the pink door. It, too, stands out…and forces you to notice that our front door is pink.

But somehow I feel that another white door is so boring, so safe , so blah. It could make the black shutters on the front window seem like an odd choice (and I’m not feeling ready to replace them quite yet).

I’m intrigued by a black front door. It could look really sharp and would match the shutters on the front window.

However, would I then need to paint the screen door black so it doesn’t look too contrasty? Or would that make the front door look gross and uninviting?

Is any of this making sense or am I just rambling here? Be honest.

And, yes, I do realize that I have way too many photos of the front of my house and the front door as this post is clearly pointing out to us all.

But really, if you had to choose, gun to your head, what color would you paint our front door???

And if you’re feeling generous, what would you do about the front stoop? Or the big white space above? Anything?

PP HELP!!!

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Around the House and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Door Debacle

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Just my thoughts… Leave the door white. Keep the black iron rails and paint the porch a shade of green that isn’t stark, some shade of green with gray in it to quiet it down.

    • Miss Em says:

      Interesting…I never would have thought of green. I don’t know if my brain can handle more options! :p Thanks, Elizabeth! Welcome to The Purple Peach!

      -Miss Em

  2. Dad says:

    Hi sweetie,
    your front door should be black. Then, small, 4×4 terra-cotta tiles or something suitable for out doors in Rochester on the step.

  3. Dad says:

    Oh and by the way, remove the blank panel in the storm door or if you can get a new storm door that is completely glass, that would show off the glossy black door very nicely.

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

