My Big Backyard

Today is a very special day.

Today is the first mow of the season!

So I thought in honor of the first mow of Spring 2010, I’d give you a little update as to the goings on in my big backyard (which isn’t really that big but I used to LOVE the magazine growing up).

When we moved in, the backyard was…um…lacking?

That lovely bunch of ladies is my mother, sister, realtor and myself doing a little tour while the house wasn’t ours yet completely. Do you love the knee-length grass? It was so in that year…

Once we moved in we went into full attack mode on this:

And this:

Loved the privacy but it was really a jungle back there (of what we later determined to be knot weed but that’s a whole different story)!

When we were finished it looked like this:

Yeah…we accidentally threw a tree off balance and it fell over. (And continues to grow three years later b/c the base of the tree that is still connected to the ground is holding the back fence in place – did I mention how much I love my backyard yet?)

I have plans that I hope to fulfill this year for my backyard gardens. Like a little potted herb garden against the house and getting rid of the lattice around the back porch – an argument JB and I have been discussing for three years now. And some climbing flowers up the back wall to hide the meter and blow floral scents through my windows…ah…I love Spring!

Unfortunately, this is still pretty much what the backyard looks like. With a new job (and a new income) I’m hoping to get the fence replaced this Summer and that my friends is when all the old, overgrown plants can come out! (Like I said about the tree, the fence is pretty much being held up the entire length by one plant or another).

PP Stay tuned! I have plenty of ideas for my garden and backyard! What are your gardening goals this year? Trying some veggies or taking it slow like me with some mint in a pot? :)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Around the House, Garden Shmarden!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Big Backyard

  1. Dad says:

    Who is that handsome little fella in the last pic?

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

