Surprise, Surprise

You already know (or don’t) that the mister and I celebrated our 7 year anniversary this past weekend.

And I had a little trick up my sleeve planned for him.

JB and I always talk about going to the mountain and giving snowboarding a try (why? B/c we’re trying to kill ourselves early, that’s why).

So Saturday morning (technically, the day before our anniversary) I loaded up the car and off we went!

We were a little too late to make the 11:30AM snowboarding lessons (seriously, minutes) but one of the ticket ladies informed us she’d been snowboarding for years and all we needed to know was:

  • Keep your weight on your toes or your heels
  • You will go in the direction your shoulder is pointing

That’s it?,” Jerry and I questioned.

She assured us that that was it and yes, we would fall but stick with it b/c it’s loads of fun.

So we did.

And it was.

And that’s the last time you’ll see me with a snowboard.

Ever.

I’m going back to skis.

Snowboarding is WAY harder than skiing.

It was a blast, though. At least now I can say I’ve done it.

HAHAHA! That’s my mugshot. That face explains how freaking ridiculously exhausted I was (and I was smiling in the next pic but this one is too funny not to share). :)

PP Sorry for the low quality pics – there was no way I was bringing my Nikon on the mountain with all of the falling I knew we’d be doing. Oh, and I’m happy to report no broken bones, no bruises (SERIOUSLY!), just some sore knees and a super sore upper back from landing on my head while I tensed up my body. The Jer-Bear was just generally sore…lucky duck. Have you ever switched from skiing to snowboarding or vice versa? What did you think? I think skiing is WAY easier. Mucho respecto to all you snowboarders out there!

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in It's Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Surprise, Surprise

  1. sartenada says:

    How lovely day You spent together!!!

    I have never snowboarded and I guess it is great fun to do, but not to my age, I will stay with Nordic skiing. :)

    I wish a very happy weekend to You and Your family.

  2. Kim says:

    OK so now your my hero, or maybe your just NUTS! I love my husband but really Em. I wouldnt dream of Snowboarding for him. The self inflicted pain no way! Ohh I am in Awe of you.

  3. Miss Em says:

    You may be right, I may be crazy…

    Lookin’ so crazy in love! Got me lookin’, got me lookin’ so crazy in love!

    Okay, now that DJ Peachy Peach has finished spinning…it was crazy. Completely. And I wanted to quit SO many times but I just looked down the hill at the smile on Jerry’s face (he had to fall down on purpose to stop and wait for me to catch up) and knew I had to get up and fall some more.

    Crazy what you’ll do for love!

    -Miss Em

  4. Pingback: 2010: A Year in Review |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

