Trial Tuesday: Green Works Dishwashing Liquid

Exciting, right?

I made a mental note when my mother told me she liked the Green Works dish soap b/c my mom doesn’t get too excited to tell me about a product very frequently. (And when she mentioned this dish soap she said, “Yeah, I like it.” So that should show you how excited she gets for cleaning supplies).

Anyway, I forgot about it for awhile b/c, well, I don’t do the dishes in our house but I was definitely intrigued – anytime the mister and I can get a little more “green” it is a plus for me. So we grabbed a bottle of the “Simply Tangerine” scent and plopped it in our cart to help us green up our kitchen sink.

THE VERDICT:

Ever since Jerry ran out of dish soap and pulled out this guy, he has been doing the dishes a little more aggressively. Inquiring minds might wonder why?

His response to whether or not he liked it went from, “It’s okay,” on the first use to, “I can’t stand this stuff!” halfway through the bottle.

No comprende? He’s not a fan.

Not even a little.

The smell isn’t even worth the effort it takes to get the soap out of the dispenser.

I even did the dishes a couple of times (really) to see what all the fuss was about – maybe he was manstruating? (heeheehee – Is that inappropriate?)

It’s really not that great and here’s why:

  1. It loses lather really quickly so that…
  2. …you are constantly putting more on the sponge.
  3. If you have a “fancy soap dispenser” from your mom, it clogs the nozzle so that…
  4. …it pours out slower than molasses (which isn’t good b/c you’re constantly needing more).

Yes, Jerry is in charge of the dishes. Yes, he gets help from butterflies.

All real men do.

PP What’s your favorite dish soap? Jerry really liked the one that we used before this one but I can’t remember the name of it. I know it had bleach in it…

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Trial Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trial Tuesday: Green Works Dishwashing Liquid

  1. Kim says:

    Where do you find a “fancy soap dispenser” I want one! I have to have one! Help me!

  2. Miss Em says:

    I love ours – no more looking at the “DIAL” label in my kitchen! I think my mom picked this one up at The Douglass House in Davenport, NY. It’s right on Route 23 in front of Charlotte Valley Central School.

    I’m sure you could find one at any local gift or craft store. I’m pretty sure Razzle Dazzle on Main Street in Oneonta has them, too. I don’t know anywhere in your area, though. Sorry, Kim!

    I did find a few on Etsy, though:

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=36050873
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=24078743
    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=20700402

    Just be sure to check shipping on those ones. (The last ones shipping cost is really high but she has a big selection to chose from). :)

    Hope this helps! And let me know what you buy when you get one!

    -Emily

  3. Kim says:

    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, My GOSH Em!!!! Google these things!
    I could have a new one everyday! Im loving this shopping trip!

  4. Catebrigid says:

    I just started using a new dish soap too. And I hate it. I switched to Ajax grapefruit scent, purely for scent reasons, and I encountered all the same problems.

    Long story short, I’m switching back to Palmolive with Oxiclean. It’s in a blue bottle and it lasts SOOOO long. Plus, it’s better to use than anything with bleach – both for your skin and the environment. ;)

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

