Book Review: Your Money Counts

So…maybe I talk about her too much…but this is my blog so get used to it. :p

Katie Bower said that with the help of this book she was able to get her spending on track and pay off a good chunk of debt.

Sign me up!

So I read the whole thing as my January book (b/c one of my resolutions this year is one book a month and another one is to knock off some debt).

Verdict: I really liked it.

There are so many good points about money that I found myself knocking myself on the head trying to figure out why I hadn’t figured it out before.

It does focus on what the bible says about money (which I found, surprisingly, very interesting) but even if you’re not into that, the pointers on how to spend and keep your money are really smart and pretty universal. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to get in control of their debt and spending.

The book was a good first pick for me, too, b/c I was trying to get back into going to church more regularly…this helped.

What a book!

Helping me close in on not one, not two but THREE resolutions!

It was a really easy read, too.

Holler!

PP Read any good books that I should add to my list for this year? I’m aiming for 12 but who knows, maybe I’ll go crazy. :)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Book Report, Goalies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Your Money Counts

  1. Sarah says:

    So Em, Can you give us all a couple pointers that you came across when reading this that made you think to yourself ‘Oh yeah, why didn’t I think of that before?’ I am interested to know. THANKS

  2. Miss Em says:

    Well, for starters, what Jer and I are doing right now (for the whole month of February) is tracking every penny brought in and every penny spent. Even the 75 cents he spends on a can of pop at work. We’re writing it all down and clipping all receipts and notes to a clipboard to see exactly how much money we’re spending and where we’re spending it.

    Then, in the book, Dayton breaks down approximately how much % you should be spending of your income and where it should be going so we’ll figure that out early next month and then try to follow it (and hopefully putting a lot more towards our student loans and the mortgage).

    He also suggests to give yourself a monthly allowance. As cheesy as it sounds, it will make you think twice about buying, I don’t know, another cute outfit for your adorable baby girls when they already have a hundred cute outfits. (That’s what they have Aunts and Grandmas are for!)

    Another really interesting point I read was that if you can manage to put $2.74 a day into your savings (roughly $20/week) and have around 10% interest on your savings account, in 40 years, you’ll have invested only $40,000 but will have nearly half a million in your account! It seems pretty far off but if you think of it in terms of the twins college education or an addition on the house, it seems more plausible to save that money (obviously the twins will be going to college before they’re 40 but if you could swing double the amount into the savings account you could get to that cool half mill just after they get into college).

    There was more but I didn’t bookmark anything. Actually, this reminds me I didn’t add to my savings this week. :p I guess I’m going to the bank!

    -Emily

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

