Look Out World!

Emy Mac made dinner last night!

Yummm…

I found this recipe on Glamour’s website (I successfully completed my day one of Body By Glamour eating, thank you very much). The recipe was SO easy! Here:

Chicken Meatballs w/ Whole Wheat Spaghetti and Steamed Broccoli

  • 1 lb. ground chicken breast
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic salt
  • oregano, basil, thyme and black pepper
  • store-bought marinara sauce (look for healthy options that do not exceed 40 calories per 1/2-cup serving)
  • steamed broccoli
  • whole-wheat pasta
  • optional: 1 tsp. Parmesan cheese

In a medium pot, warm the marinara sauce on low heat. Mix the spices with the ground chicken breast and shape into small meatballs. Gently drop the balls into the warmed marinara sauce. Cover and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes until meatballs are cooked through. Serve with 1/2 cup cooked pasta and 1-1/2 cups steamed broccoli.

Makes 4 servings of Meatballs.

Nutritional info: 335 calories, 10 grams fat, 7 grams fiber, 29.5 grams protein, 35 grams carbohydrates

(This recipe has been provided by nutritionist Rachel Beller, R.D., founder of the Beller Nutritional Institute in Beverly Hills for Glamour Magazine).

And you better believe I filled myself up on broccoli…mmm…broccoli…b/c I’m trying to ease my portion sizes down and the guide said I can eat as many veggies as I want this week.

So I did.

But not as much as Jerry. The man loves broccoli like he was self deprived of it for 20 years…b/c he was. Weirdo. Who doesn’t love broccoli?!

And on that note I leave you with this:

Calphalon, you make the most beautiful cookware.

When I use one of my three Calphalon pans, my heart sings.

So, why, on God’s green Earth where all things are holy am I using a divine 13″ Calphalon Contemporary pan lid to cover a sauce pan?

This girl is broke, dear, Calphalon, and would love nothing more than to add some of your delicious pots to her collection and recycle the mismatched weirdos that stare jealously at the gorgeousness of her three pretty pans.

If there is any way to be added to a “product testing” team, Calphalon, count me in!

…or if you could swing me a win for your awesome contest you have going on right now, that would be awesome, too. (I’d even be cool with being one of the 3 lucky monthly winners). :)

Peace Out,

Miss Em

PP Um, can we please agree that I just rocked the socks of off #16 on day 2 of the month! (That is correct, I have never cooked meatballs before. I’m Irish Lithuanian, K?)

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Craft Service, Goalies. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Look Out World!

  1. Sarah says:

    That recipe sounds so yummy. So you bought the chicken already ground up? Hmmmm…I don’t think I have seen that anywhere around me. Also I entered the contest you posted on, but you have to put in the date you plan on getting married and HELLO I already am. So I put in the date I already got married and it let me put it through so Hopefully! That would be so cool…..

  2. Miss Em says:

    The chicken is pre-ground (it was Perdue and $3.50/lb!) but I know that some kitchen mixers have attachments that you can get to grind your own meat.

    The meatballs were SO good. I mean, I haven’t had meatballs in literally years but JB said they were pretty sha-mazin’, too. :) He’s now on board with the potential purchase of a mixer and its attachments. Holler!

    -Emily

  3. jazzyjax says:

    Celphalon Rocks my kitchen as well. My pots and pans, as you well know, are well worn, well loved and have produced AWESOME food. need to get new ones someday….

  4. Kim says:

    Ok so I hear Broccoli but Im not seeing it. Em?

  5. Miss Em says:

    Jackie! Welcome to the blog!

    Kim – I was too hungry to put it on my plate and take a picture! Jerry and I finished a whole bag of broccoli between the two of us! So, yes, Kim, it was there, I promise! (And next time I’ll put it in the picture!) :)

    -Emily

  6. Pingback: February Goalies « The Purple Peach

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

