Trial Tuesday: Baking Soda

Did she just say –Yes, I did.

And I’m not running out of things to “Trial Tuesday” either.

Baking Soda is something you can find in almost every home in America yet most people, myself included don’t know about it’s serious multi-tasking abilities.

Like most people, I’m sure, I could never seem to get through one tiny 8 oz. box of baking soda before its suggested 30 days were up (and ever since they gave us a spot to write it on the box, you better believe JB is all about tossing it once that day comes).

So why this sudden love for such a mundane product?

(Sorry, you’re gonna have to click on that to read it and yes, Kim, I was green with envy about your countertops until I read the following sentence). :p

This is also why I love Kim.

Kim is proactiv and I am reactive.

Kim knows I’m lazy and doesn’t judge me for it she does the work for me b/c of it.

(And, in case you’re wondering, I have never met Kim! She is my sister’s partner in crime at work. That’s how awesome she is!)

Believe it or not this link was also in my bookmarks folder. It leads to a list made by the Youngster over at This Young House about all the stuff in your kitchen you can use to clean your entire house without chemicals.

Bookmarked and in the “To Do” folder.

But it took a little kick from Kim to get me started and I ended up with this:

Yes, there are still little spots where dirt is clinging for dear life but do you see those sparkly specs!? Those were never visible before!

My marble has sparkly specs!

I’m in love.

And I promise to stop talking about my granite slabs soon. But look at the baking soda in action:

Working from left to right, just after the crack is where the dirtiness begins. It’s a slight difference in the photo but trust me when I tell you it was a lot nastier before than I had realized.

I scrubbed these slabs so hard I thought my arms would fall off. So don’t do what I did and use a microfiber towel, the next time I use baking soda to scrub my marble I’m using a sponge.

That’s right, little dirt particles, start being scared.

PP Thanks, Kim!!! Anyone else make their own cleaners from stuff found in your kitchen?

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Around the House, Blog Around The Block, Trial Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Trial Tuesday: Baking Soda

  1. Kim says:

    Well Ms Em,

    Now that you mentioned it. There is a little thing Ive got going on with vinegar. I keep a spray bottle with vinegar under the sink and when I have a weak moment and make the hubby geasy burgers. A few sprays and a quick wipe and the stove is sparkling clean.
    Someday we will have to chat about tooth paste and cleaning jewlry.

    Toodles, Have great evening
    Kim

  2. Miss Em says:

    OMG! You are like a cooler version of Mr. Clean with hair! At least, I assume you have hair. :p That bottle of vinegar that’s been sitting in my cupboard is about to get some exercise!

    -Em

  3. Sarah says:

    You two (Kim and Em) are so funny. I used the vinegar too on my glasstop stove, but I didn’t have so much luck. Hmmm….maybe I did something wrong. Who knows.

  4. Kim says:

    Today is Wed, did I miss Trial Tues.? Sarah, Maybe its backing Soda you need not Vinagar. We will chat.

  5. Kim says:

    baking soda opps!

  6. Miss Em says:

    Nooo!!! Kim, you totally called me out on this…I skipped Trial Tuesday this week b/c I was…um…yeah, I got nothin’. I didn’t know what to “trial” and then I was so tired I didn’t get around to posting AT ALL!!! BAH!!! I’m so embarrassed. Here I am letting you and Sarah down and you’re my only readers! :( Next week, I’ll do two!

    -Miss Em

  7. Catebrigid says:

    Umm…Matti and I are loyal readers as well thank you very much! I’m just a few weeks behind is all! I’m trying to save it so that I can have a little slice of Miss Em everyday! ;)

  8. Miss Em says:

    Cate – I try to post everyday so you’re going to be behind forever! Catch up, chica! Join the party with the rest of us!

    -Bem

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

