A Heavy Issue

I may be totally embarrassed about this tomorrow but…

…I figure if I’m going to be posting here about all the goings on of the McB household I need to post about all of it.

And I am telling myself this will be good for me.

This will be good for me.

I have never been a skinny girl. I am the same height as my father (5’3″ on a good day – didn’t see that coming, did ya?) and, fun fact, have the same chest circumference. So when I say I am my Father’s daughter, I mean it.

To further illustrate this point let’s travel back in time:

That adorable young lady with her tongue out is me. The year is 1996. I am 11.

I look about the size of a soon to be 12-year-old, don’t I? Don’t I?

Actually, I knew I was big for my age b/c of those percentile things they put you in at the nurse’s office. Bizarre, I was in like the 90th percentile meaning I was taller and weighed more than most of my grade (of 23 kids, might I add – no, that is not a typo).

Back to the story!

This is the Summer that my Dad weighed me (before we headed to our first gym session of the Summer so we could track our progress).

I weighed 133 lbs at 5’2″.

And 11. Did I mention that? Eleven.

Yeah…I weighed as much as my Dad that very moment and when he told me was the first time I remember being aware of my size.

Today:

And b/c we all love a good before and after (which I am really hoping to have) here’s the skinny – or, lack there of:

Height: 5’3″

Weight: 165.5 lbs

The response I get most often to that is, “Really?”

Which I love. So…go ahead and say it.

Please.

Just kidding – kind of. ;)

So how am I going to lose some weight? (I’d really like to lose about 30 but I’ll settle for anything at this point). Enter:

P90X

Why?

  1. Jerry and I have done it before so we know we can handle it
  2. And have all the equipment already
  3. Jerry and I lost about 30 lbs combined in less than two of the three months you’re supposed to be doing the program

I think that’s about it. Oh yeah, JB is doing it with me, too. (We’re in talks about him actually talking about how he feels about the program here).

And if all of this losing weight nonsense turns you off or grosses you out, I’m sorry.

I’m sorry but this is my blog about my little slice of life and this is a major part of what’s going on here every day.

Every. Single. Day.

And I’m only going to talk about it once a week (Mondays if it happens how I want it to) so just go ahead and skip Monday’s here at The Purple Peach if you don’t dig reading about weight loss, working out and all that jazzercise. :)

PP Anyone else have any “lose weight” resolutions they’re trying to make good on this year? Or are you a bean pole like my big sis, Sarah, in the pic above?

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Heavy Issue

  1. sartenada says:

    Hi Emily.

    Very interesting to read. Good thing is that You both are in.

    When I was young (again), I had over weight very much. I losed weight by eating:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crisp_bread

    Sorry again Wikipedia, but to me it is easest way to tell. :)

    In two and half months my weight loss was: 39.7 pounds. It was not easy!

    Nowadays during past twenty years my weight is changeing average 4.4 pounds from year to another.

    Our problem (me and my wife) is late nite eating. So simple. I like to walk daily about 3.8 miles. Also I am using pedometer with me all the day. My steps vary between 11000-13000 steps. Do You have pedometer?
    Well, now I am waiting for next Monday.

    I am in spirit with You.

  2. Miss Em says:

    Thank you so much, Matti! Your input is very helpful.

    Mine and Jerry’s biggest problem is eating, too. We don’t eat unhealthy but we do eat too much. Your weight loss is amazing! But please tell me you didn’t eat crisp bread all by itself! I couldn’t handle it. You have a stronger will than I do!

    I don’t have a pedometer but it seems like a good idea. (I know I’m not walking nearly as much as you!) It would be a good opportunity to take more photographs, too.

    Thanks again, Matti!

    -Emily

    PS I love the wikipedia links you post – it makes it easy for me to learn about what you’re talking about. If you didn’t put up the link that is probably the first place that I would go to find out! :)

  3. Sarah says:

    Yes, wouldn’t I love to look like I did in 1996??? But I too am now dealing with weight issues after having twins in 2008. I am watching my daily fat percentage (staying at or below 100%) and my first purchase with my tax refund??? A Wii Fit. I can’t ‘weight’ to get it….hahaha…Get it?!?

  4. Chubby Buddha says:

    Dearest Emily,
    There are a ton of bike trails in the area. You and I, yes, I’ve decided for you, will be hitting the trails once the weather gets nicer. Doh! This is Rochester, we’ll never know what the weather will be like, even 5 minutes from now. Seriously, we got this, gf! And – maybe at least once this year, you’ll go hiking with me :-)

    Much love,

    Very Emily Deprived Stalker-ish Asian Chica

  5. Miss Em says:

    Sarah – I’m so glad to see that cheesiness runs in the family and I love you for it!

    Very Emily Deprived Stalker-ish Asian Chica – You are on! But I guess this means I need to buy a bike? I think I can swing that.

    Peace Out,

    Emily

  6. Catebrigid says:

    Eating really is what makes a difference. I’ve lost and kept off another 10 lbs (finally under 150!!) and I did it all by changing eating habits. I eat lots of greens, especially spinach, every day. Remember, you can eat a larger amount of food if it’s healthy food. If you REALLY want to make a change…cut dairy out of your diet. It hinders your ability to digest other foods properly. Maybe to start you could cut out all dairy except cheese. That’s what I do. I know it’s hard, bur kick that milk and you’ll notice a difference. ;)

  7. Catebrigid says:

    PP Looking forward to Monday posts!

  8. Miss Em says:

    Um…you should know I love dairy more than a fat kid loves cake…lots more. Maybe I could try it for a week. But what about my cereal!?

    -Bem

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

