Bathroom: Chapter 1

Do you see how I already avoided talking about my bathroom yesterday?

Typical.

So the first chapter of any renovation has to be demo, right? And if I am good at one thing in this life it is demo!

I was so excited to tear down that yellow floral wallpaper that I got straight to business and had only one casualty – the medicine cabinet.

This is the only photo we had of the medicine cabinet. I don’t know why, wasn’t it just…charming? HAHAHAHA!!!!

Turns out that lovely wallpaper is vinyl. Oh, yeah, just like all the other wallpaper in the house. It’s so deceiving, you think it’s a breeze to come off but then you get the paper backing…that, my friends, is the nails on the chalkboard for me.

But, wow, Emily, you did a great job with that tiny borrowed steamer (thanks again, Kristen!) and look what you found!

Great. Another hole to patch.

Turns out the previous owners ripped out a darling little medicine cabinet and set of 50s lights (how do I know they were darling? It’s my story, so there). We had bigger plans for this tiny little nook of ours anyway (double pedestal sinks, what?!) so, yeah…we patched it.

BUT – this is demo day, peeps, let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

So what do my wandering eyes spy?

YELLOW PAINT UNDER THE YELLOW WALLPAPER!?!?!?!

Riiight…not cool, Caroline, not cool.

Let me demonstrate how much more yellow our wee bathroom looked once the yellow wallpaper was down:

Do you hear that? What is that sound?

Oh, no worries, that’s just me curled up in the corner quietly sobbing. No big deal.

Actually, I thought the yellow was a joke. It made me more motivated to get that stupid tile down. Stupid tile.

Oh, Mr. Crowbar, how I love you.

If you look closely there, you’ll see he instigated the removal of the vanity and:

The yellow toilet! GONE! WOOHOO! Sayonara, sucka!!!

Do you see that yummy floor? Isn’t it delicious? Love the pattern, HATE the yellow!

NOTE: I don’t actually hate yellow as stated in the prologue. I knew I would be throwing some yellow hate out there and I can’t help it. This bathroom has been our DIY nemesis for a long time.

We also tore the tub surround down to the studs but, for the life of me, I can’t find any pictures of it! :( This makes my heart sad. Staring lovingly at the studs was one of my favorite pastimes during this demo. It really helped me get past all of that yellow and all of the crumbling walls.

Demo, done. Let’s rebuild!

…another day. ;)

PP We didn’t demo the yellow floor!? Are we crazy?! Do you love demo as much as I do? Got any stories? I’d love to hear them!

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Around the House. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bathroom: Chapter 1

  1. jen says:

    The thought of a demo makes my head spin. We did one tiny renovation to our house, and it was a complete and utter disaster. Remind me to never work with my father in law again. EVER.

  2. Miss Em says:

    Jen – never work with your father in law again. :)

    What did you renovate?

    -Emily

  3. Catebrigid says:

    HAHAHA!!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE yellow!!!! ;)

  4. So not really on the same topic as your post, but I found this today and I just can’t resist sharing. Mrs. Agathe’s dishwasher quit working so she called a repairman. Since she had to go to work the next day, she told him, “I’ll leave the key under the mat. Fix the dishwasher, leave the bill on the counter, and I’ll mail you the check. Oh, and by the way…don’t worry about my Doberman. He won’t bother you. But, whatever you do, do NOT under ANY circumstances talk to my parrot!” When the repairman arrived at Mrs. Agathe’s apartment the next day, he discovered the biggest and meanest looking Doberman he had ever seen. But just as she had said, the dog simply laid there on the carpet, watching the repairman go about his business. However, the whole time the parrot drove him nuts with his incessant cursing, yelling and name-calling. Finally the repairman couldn’t contain himself any longer and yelled, “Shut up, you stupid ugly bird!” To which the parrot replied, “Get him, Spike!”

  5. Pingback: Revealed: Downstairs Bathroom |

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

