GCCCO: Day 25

Merry Christmas! I’m done!This is it boys and girls! The FINAL(LY) day of The Great Christmas Cookie Cook-Off! What’s on the dessert menu for the last day? Something new? Something exciting?!

Not quite. Not quite at all.

I decided, I really enjoyed eating making meringues on Day 15 that I was going to do it again but with my favorite flavor combo, Mint and Chocolate, from one of my favorite ladies.

To say it didn’t quite happen is an understatement:Your eyes do not deceive you, I had Peppermint Meringue Pancakes.

Failed? Yes. Tasty? Quite. Disappointed anyway? Absolutely.What a let down for the last day! I do plan on trying again using the Day 15 recipe minus the chocolate chips and substituting peppermint extract for the vanilla but it’s not likely to happen in the near future as my little baking heart is simply too crushed. :(

Ah well…c’est la vie.

I’m glad the project is over and I have learned a lot (such as stick to recipes that you know work) which I plan to post about later. Until then, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Christmas 2010 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to GCCCO: Day 25

  1. Lisa Lang says:

    Hi Emily,
    It looks to me that your bowl or beater may have had some grease on it. Next time you try the neringues, wash your bowl and beaters in very hot, soapy water, then rinse with lemon juice and hot water, rinse again in hot water and go! Good luck!

  2. Diana says:

    The recipe works well, you probably need to whip it longer. Mine held the same shape all the way through the cooking process, from the moment I piped them out to the finished product.

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

