GCCCO: Day 13 & 14

So sorry for the delay – Jerry and I spent all last night Christmas shopping! Ugh!

Just kidding. It wasn’t bad b/c we did ALL of our ordering online and avoided stores, crowds and shipping! Woohoo! We really love amazon.com and their Super Saver Shipping. :)

Okay, okay. On to the cookies!

After my *ahem* misfortunes baking over the weekend I wanted to bake something I knew I couldn’t screw up. Mexican Hot Chocolate Cookies:I ended up screwing these up, too! Shhh…don’t tell anyone (I didn’t). ;) It turns out I don’t actually read directions when I bake which is a BIG no no when working on a new recipe. I ended up putting all 2 cups of sugar into the batter instead of saving a 1/2 cup for the rolling. Whoops!

They were a big hit anyway, chocolaty deliciousness…wins them every time. :)

For Day 14: Candy-Stripe Cookie Sticks

I feel the need to explain a few things here:

1. I tried.

2. I didn’t read the directions (I rolled ALL of the cookies the wrong way).

3. I gave up.

No matter how thin I spread the batter and how straight I made the red lines, the cookie always baked to a thin cakey consistency that was just downright weird and the lines squiggled. Not very candy-stripe-like at all!

Another fail to add to my pile but tomorrow, tomorrow I refuse to fail. ;)

 

 

About Miss Em

I'm Emily, he's Jerry. Newly wed but long together, homeowners since 2006, one child in cat form.
This entry was posted in Christmas 2010 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking? I would love to hear from you!

